2019 SDA-HPERA Convention

Monday, April 8, 2019
9am–5pm (registration starts at 8:15am)
AdventHealth Wesley Chapel (Classrooms 4A and 4B)
2600 Bruce B Downs Blvd
Wesley Chapel, FL 33544
(813) 929-5000
$40 Professionals
$10 Students

Let Us Know You’re Coming!

Please click the button below & fill out the registration form to let us know that you’re planning to be there. We are not collecting money right now, just information. You can give the Registration Fee on-site the day of.

Register Now

Date & Time back to top

Date Monday, April 8, 2019
Time 9am–5pm registration starts at 8:15am

Location back to top

AdventHealth Wellness Center Wesley Chapel
2600 Bruce B Downs Blvd
Wesley Chapel, FL 33544

Note: Please park in the lot far away from the hospital entrance to leave close spaces for patients.

Topics back to top

Presentation Title/Topic
“Towards being an effective Athletic Director”
“NASM Programming and Fitness Trends”
“Fundraising Ideas”
“Exodus: the Departure (the road to Interscholastic Sports)”
“Coaching Distinctively Adventist Sports: new “volunteer” coach edition”
“Gamifying PE & Health”
3 Rapid-fire University student presentations

Awards back to top

Awards will be given to recognize some of our colleagues.

Hotel Reservations back to top

We have negotiated a special rate for hotel reservations. The Holiday Inn Express is 3 miles from the meeting location.

Holiday Inn Express
2775 Cypress Ridge Blvd
Wesley Chapel, FL

To make your reservation and get our special rate, click here.

Our special rate is $109/night (local rates are $151–204). It applies to two (2) nights, Sunday & Monday (April 7 & 8), and includes complimentary breakfast.

Registration back to top

Registration for the event costs $40 for professionals and $10 for students. Please let us know that you are coming by following the button below and filling out the registration form. We are not collecting money right now, just information. You can give the Registration Fee on-site the day of.

Register Now

2018–2019 Executive Committee back to top

Position Name Organization
President Jeremy Perkins Gem State Adventist® Academy
Past President Doug Zimmerman Escondido Adventist Academy
President Elect Rodd Strobel Walla Walla University
Secretary Vashon Williams Oakwood University
Convention Manager Position Open
Executive Director Rob Thomas La Sierra University

Past Presidents and Secretaries back to top

Year President Secretary
2018 Doug Zimmerman Tamara Ritterskamp
2017 Randy Lonto Tedd Webster
2016 Bob Paulson Matt Lee
2015 Robert Benge Curtis Kuhlman
2014 Ric Schwarz Randy Lonto
2013 Alvin Fuentes Jeremy Perkins
2012 Brian Sather Jeremy Perkins
2011 Ron Schafer Doug Zimmerman
2010 Ric Spaulding Bob Benge
2009 Nestor Osorio Mike Boyd
2008 Rod Bussey Krystal Hauff
2007 Joe Perrone Laura Benn
2006 Greg Davies Gregg Morrow
2005 Greg Davies Gregg Morrow
2004 Delmar Lovejoy Steve Adams (Rob Thomas acting)
2003 Tim Windemuth Joe Perrone
2002 Nancy Petta Brian Sather (Barbara Harsany acting)
2001 Tim Willsey Rick Schwarz
2000 Don Morgan Heather Neal
1999 Ric Gatling Curtis Kuhlman (… acting)
1998 Barbara Harsany Gary Eggers (… acting)
1997 Rob Thomas Troy Beans
1996 Frank Martinez Ron Reading (Ric Spaulding acting)
1995 Bob Kalua Wally Fox
1994 Debbie Morgan Rob Thomas
1993 Phil Garver Jim Hanson
1992 Stan Detweiler Lydia Chong
1991 Roger McFarland Barbara Harsany
1990 John Pangman Sheri Hall (Bob Reynolds acting)
1989 Stacy Nelson Wally Fox
1988 Gary Hamburg Helen Weismeyer
1987 Vernon Scheffel Barbara Friesen
1986 Bill Napier Barbara Frieson (completed Cavanaugh’s term)
1985 Bill Napier Sandy Cavanaugh
1984 Walt Hamerslough Debbie Morgan
1983 Walt Hamerslough Debbie Morgan
1982 Steering Committee Chair presided Bob Reynolds
1981 Association organized Bob Reynolds