Established in 1981, the Seventh-day Adventist Health, Physical Education, and Recreation Association (SDA-HPERA), is the professional organization representing physical education, recreation and athletic programs in the North American Division, as well as the world field, of the Seventh-day Adventist Church. All individuals employed in the area of health, physical education, recreation and athletics, as well as individuals interested in the same, are welcomed into membership.

SDA-HPERA used to publish a newsletter three times a year: fall, winter & spring through 2008. Click here to access back issues. To subscribe to the low-volume SDA-HPERA email list-serv, send your name, email, and institution information to the executive director by clicking here. This list-serv is a vehicle for sharing information relevant to the members of our organization such as upcoming webinars, conferences, etc. and for asking questions of other members of the list-serv.

The association meets at an annual convention, usually held the day before the Society of Health and Physical Educators (SHAPE) holds its national convention. When convenient, the SDA-HPERA convention is held on the campus of a Seventh-day Adventist college, university or academy.

The 2024–2025 Executive Committee back to top

Javier Krumm

Javier Krumm La Sierra University [email protected]

Past President
Randy Lonto

Randy Lonto Ruth Murdoch Elementary School

President Elect
Ashley Walters-Garcia

Ashley Walters-Garcia La Sierra University

Sam Mills

Sam Mills Andrews Academy

Convention Manager
position open

Open This position is currently open.

Executive Director
Matt Lee

Matt Lee PUC Prep Academy [email protected]

Past Presidents and Secretaries back to top

Year President Secretary
2024 Randy Lonto Stacey Brackett
2023 Matt Lee Lizzie Mendoza
2022 Alex Adams Calvin Morton
2021 Vashon Williams Kaitlyn Nelson
2020 Rodd Strobel Matt Cantrell
2019 Jeremy Perkins Vashon Williams
2018 Doug Zimmerman Tamara Ritterskamp
2017 Randy Lonto Tedd Webster
2016 Bob Paulson Matt Lee
2015 Bob Benge Curtis Kuhlman
2014 Ric Schwarz Randy Lonto
2013 Alvin Fuentes Jeremy Perkins
2012 Brian Sather Jeremy Perkins
2011 Ron Schafer Doug Zimmerman
2010 Ric Spaulding Bob Benge
2009 Nestor Osorio Mike Boyd
2008 Rod Bussey Krystal Hauff
2007 Joe Perrone Laura Benn
2006 Greg Davies Gregg Morrow
2005 Greg Davies Gregg Morrow
2004 Delmar Lovejoy Steve Adams (Rob Thomas acting)
2003 Tim Windemuth Joe Perrone
2002 Nancy Petta Brian Sather (Barbara Harsany acting)
2001 Tim Willsey Ric Schwarz
2000 Don Morgan Heather Neal
1999 Ric Gatling Curtis Kuhlman (… acting)
1998 Barbara Harsany Gary Eggers (… acting)
1997 Rob Thomas Troy Beans
1996 Frank Martinez Ron Reading (Ric Spaulding acting)
1995 Bob Kalua Wally Fox
1994 Debbie Morgan Rob Thomas
1993 Phil Garver Jim Hanson
1992 Stan Detweiler Lydia Chong
1991 Roger McFarland Barbara Harsany
1990 John Pangman Sheri Hall (Bob Reynolds acting)
1989 Stacy Nelson Wally Fox
1988 Gary Hamburg Helen Weismeyer
1987 Vernon Scheffel Barbara Friesen
1986 Bill Napier Barbara Friesen (completed Cavanaugh’s term)
1985 Bill Napier Sandy Cavanaugh
1984 Walt Hamerslough Debbie Morgan
1983 Walt Hamerslough Debbie Morgan
1982 None (Steering Committee Chair presided) Bob Reynolds
1981 None (Association organized) Bob Reynolds