This Event Has Transpired

To view documents, stories, and images from the event, please visit its Convention Media page.

Getting There back to top

From Logan International Airport (BOS)

Take the “T” (rail) blue line towards Boston from Airport Station to State Station. Get off the Blue Line at State Station and walk to change to the Orange Line (north) towards Oak Grove Station. Take the Orange Line all the way to the Oak Grove Station.

Additional Pick-Ups

  • Sunday night
    pick up at Oak Grove Station for a ride to Comfort Inn, if needed.
    Time to be announced.
  • Mondy morning
    pick up at Oak Grove Station if stayin overnight at another Boston location.
    7:45am, David Branum, Coordinator at Greater Boston Academy, cell: (661) 414-4682
  • Monday evening
    leave after dinner for drop off at Oak Grove Station.
    Time to be announced at the meetings.

Lodging back to top

Comfort Inn

14 Hill Street
Woburn, MA 01801
$87–88 depending on booking site (via Google Maps)
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Free breakfast
  • Free parking
  • Call: (781) 933-5363

NOTE: If you want to stay elsewhere in the greater Boston area, plan to stay near a “T” mass transportation station and check the schedules to make sure you can get to Oak Grove Station on the Orange line (north of Boston) by 7:35am on Monday morning to get a ride to the meetings.

Schedule for Monday, March 13, 2017 back to top

Time Event Facilitator/
8:00a Registration Tedd Webster, Secretary Great Lakes Adventist Academy
8:25a Welcome Randy Lonto, President Ruth Murdoch Elementary School
8:30a Worship Pastor Stoneham SDA Church
9:00a Keynote: Change for Good Stacy Nelson Vital Smarts
10:15a Break
10:30a Jim Hanson Memorial Lecture: “CREATION Health Campus Engagement” Shannon Bullon Florida Hospital’s CREATION Health
12:30p Lunch, Awards, & Table Talk
Honor Award: Wally Fox (GCA)
T.O.Y. Award: Matt Lee (PUC Prep)
On the Border Mexican Restaurant
19 Commerce Way, Woburn, MA 01801
(781) 995-2314
Washington Adventist University students Alvin Fuentes and students
TBD Han Felix, Senior Health Fitness Management
Diabetes Daniel Rosette, Junior Health Fitness Management
TBD Tara Smith, Senior Health Fitness Management
Stress, Sport & Athletes Shirani Smith, Sophomore Physical Education
Concussion & Prevention Francois Alant, Grad. AS Coaching & Sport Administration
3:00p Seeking Positive Behavioral Change Through Sports Ministries and Physical Education Programs at Forest Lake Academy Nestor Osorio Forest Lake Academy
3:30p Break
3:45p Physical Education at South American Division Schools Leonardo Martins Universitario Adventista de São Paulo
4:15p Physical Genesis Rob Thomas La Sierra University
4:45p Business Meeting
  • Vote for next year’s Executive Committee
  • Passing of the gavel
  • With Much Gratitude – Thank you to all who have made this convention successful.
Election of Officers – Jeremy Perkins (President-elect), Tamara Ritterskamp (Secretary), Alex Adams (Convention Manager) to serve in Nashville 2018.

For more information, please download the 2017 Convention Program (PDF) .

2016–2017 Executive Committee back to top

Position Name Organization
President Randy Lonto Ruth Murdoch Elementary School
Past President Bob Paulson Pacific Union College
President Elect Doug Zimmerman Escondido Adventist Academy
Secretary Tedd Webster Great Lakes Adventist Academy
Convention Manager David Branum Greater Boston Academy
Executive Director Rob Thomas La Sierra University

Past Presidents and Secretaries back to top

Year President Secretary
2023 Matt Lee Lizzie Mendoza
2022 Alex Adams Calvin Morton
2021 Vashon Williams Kaitlyn Nelson
2020 Rodd Strobel Matt Cantrell
2019 Jeremy Perkins Vashon Williams
2018 Doug Zimmerman Tamara Ritterskamp
2017 Randy Lonto Tedd Webster
2016 Bob Paulson Matt Lee
2015 Bob Benge Curtis Kuhlman
2014 Ric Schwarz Randy Lonto
2013 Alvin Fuentes Jeremy Perkins
2012 Brian Sather Jeremy Perkins
2011 Ron Schafer Doug Zimmerman
2010 Ric Spaulding Bob Benge
2009 Nestor Osorio Mike Boyd
2008 Rod Bussey Krystal Hauff
2007 Joe Perrone Laura Benn
2006 Greg Davies Gregg Morrow
2005 Greg Davies Gregg Morrow
2004 Delmar Lovejoy Steve Adams (Rob Thomas acting)
2003 Tim Windemuth Joe Perrone
2002 Nancy Petta Brian Sather (Barbara Harsany acting)
2001 Tim Willsey Ric Schwarz
2000 Don Morgan Heather Neal
1999 Ric Gatling Curtis Kuhlman (… acting)
1998 Barbara Harsany Gary Eggers (… acting)
1997 Rob Thomas Troy Beans
1996 Frank Martinez Ron Reading (Ric Spaulding acting)
1995 Bob Kalua Wally Fox
1994 Debbie Morgan Rob Thomas
1993 Phil Garver Jim Hanson
1992 Stan Detweiler Lydia Chong
1991 Roger McFarland Barbara Harsany
1990 John Pangman Sheri Hall (Bob Reynolds acting)
1989 Stacy Nelson Wally Fox
1988 Gary Hamburg Helen Weismeyer
1987 Vernon Scheffel Barbara Friesen
1986 Bill Napier Barbara Friesen (completed Cavanaugh’s term)
1985 Bill Napier Sandy Cavanaugh
1984 Walt Hamerslough Debbie Morgan
1983 Walt Hamerslough Debbie Morgan
1982 None (Steering Committee Chair presided) Bob Reynolds
1981 None (Association organized) Bob Reynolds