2022 SDA-HPERA Convention

Monday, April 25, 2022
starting at 9:30am Eastern (8:30am Central)
Holiday Inn Downtown – Superdome
in the Jazz meeting room
330 Loyola Ave
New Orleans, LA 70112
(roughly 1.5 miles from Convention Center)
(504) 581-1600
$40 Professionals
$10 Students
Get back in the game! (physically, mentally, spiritually, and at work)
Live Stream
LiveStream via Zoom

This Event Has Transpired

To view documents, stories, and images from the event, please visit its Convention Media page.

Convention Info back to top

This year our convention will be in-person in New Orleans, in the Jazz meeting room at the Holiday Inn Downtown – Superdome, which is also where we recommend people stay. As we’ve done for the past 8–10 years, we plan to live-stream the meetings for those who are unable to attend in person.

Lodging – Hotel Reservations back to top

The conference will be held in the Jazz meeting room at the Holiday Inn Downtown – Superdome.

330 Loyola Ave
New Orleans, LA 70112
(504) 581-1600

To make Hotel Room Reservations:

  1. CALL the hotel directly at (504) 267-5833
  2. Use the “SDA Health and PE” group name/code, so your room counts in our “block” of rooms that have been reserved
  3. Room rate: $129/night (parking is extra if you have a car)
  4. typical free breakfast, wifi, etc.

Schedule back to top
(NOTE: All times are listed for the Central Time Zone)

In the Jazz meeting room

8:15amRegistrationMatt Lee – President Elect, PUC Prep
8:30amWelcomeAlex Adams – President, Austin Peay State University
8:45amWorshipPastor Virgo Belizaire – Ebenezer SDA Church
9:00amKeynote: “Weeds in Your Ethical Garden”Dr. Sharon Stoll – University of Idaho
10:00amJim Hanson Memorial Lecture: “If you keep at it, one day you’ll get there”Bob Benge – Southern Adventist University
11:00amLunch & Table TalkPlant Bass Vegan Deli
3613 General Meyer Ave
New Orleans, LA 70114

Text orders to (504) 872-8479
1:00pmPresentation: “Using the COVID Teaching Experience to Refocus and Reinvent Your Teaching ToolsMatt Lee – PUC Prep
Justin Serns – Mesa Grande Adventist Academy
1:30pmPresentation: “Community Recreation: It’s Worth the Risk”Ron Schafer – Burman University
2:10pmStudent Presenters
The effects of mind-body medicines on mental illnessesJennifer Lumintang – La Sierra University
Does pre-workout affect college athletes’ strength performance when performing a 1-repitition maximum squat?James Bretsch, Owen Huff, & Itzel Rubio – La Sierra University
Alternative pain relief for acute sports injuriesSondia Howell – Oakwood University
The effects of brisk walking on short-term memoryCrystal Cida Guzman – Pacific Union College
3:20pmAwards Presentation
Future Professional
T.O.Y. Award: Justin Serns (Mesa Grande)
Service Award: Elaine Neudeck (PUC)
Service Award: Paul Lehman (Burman University)
Honor Award: Bob Benge (Southern Adventist University)
4:00pmBusiness Meeting
Vote for next year’s Executive Committee
Passing of the gavel

2021–2022 Executive Committee back to top

Position Name Organization
PresidentAlex Adams Austin Peay University
Past PresidentVashon Williams Oakwood University
President ElectMatt Lee PUC Prep Academy
SecretaryCalvin Morton Oakwood Adventist Academy
SecretaryRandy Lonto Ruth Murdoch Elementary School
Convention ManagerOpen Position
Executive DirectorRob Thomas La Sierra University

Past Presidents and Secretaries back to top

Year President Secretary
2024 Randy Lonto Stacey Brackett
2023 Matt Lee Lizzie Mendoza
2022 Alex Adams Calvin Morton
2021 Vashon Williams Kaitlyn Nelson
2020 Rodd Strobel Matt Cantrell
2019 Jeremy Perkins Vashon Williams
2018 Doug Zimmerman Tamara Ritterskamp
2017 Randy Lonto Tedd Webster
2016 Bob Paulson Matt Lee
2015 Bob Benge Curtis Kuhlman
2014 Ric Schwarz Randy Lonto
2013 Alvin Fuentes Jeremy Perkins
2012 Brian Sather Jeremy Perkins
2011 Ron Schafer Doug Zimmerman
2010 Ric Spaulding Bob Benge
2009 Nestor Osorio Mike Boyd
2008 Rod Bussey Krystal Hauff
2007 Joe Perrone Laura Benn
2006 Greg Davies Gregg Morrow
2005 Greg Davies Gregg Morrow
2004 Delmar Lovejoy Steve Adams (Rob Thomas acting)
2003 Tim Windemuth Joe Perrone
2002 Nancy Petta Brian Sather (Barbara Harsany acting)
2001 Tim Willsey Ric Schwarz
2000 Don Morgan Heather Neal
1999 Ric Gatling Curtis Kuhlman (… acting)
1998 Barbara Harsany Gary Eggers (… acting)
1997 Rob Thomas Troy Beans
1996 Frank Martinez Ron Reading (Ric Spaulding acting)
1995 Bob Kalua Wally Fox
1994 Debbie Morgan Rob Thomas
1993 Phil Garver Jim Hanson
1992 Stan Detweiler Lydia Chong
1991 Roger McFarland Barbara Harsany
1990 John Pangman Sheri Hall (Bob Reynolds acting)
1989 Stacy Nelson Wally Fox
1988 Gary Hamburg Helen Weismeyer
1987 Vernon Scheffel Barbara Friesen
1986 Bill Napier Barbara Friesen (completed Cavanaugh’s term)
1985 Bill Napier Sandy Cavanaugh
1984 Walt Hamerslough Debbie Morgan
1983 Walt Hamerslough Debbie Morgan
1982 None (Steering Committee Chair presided) Bob Reynolds
1981 None (Association organized) Bob Reynolds