2023 SDA-HPERA Convention

Monday, March 27, 2023
7:45am Registration, 8:00am Welcome & Worship
Washington Conference of SDAs
32229 Weyerhaeuser Way S.
Federal Way, WA 98001
(the southern part of Seattle metro area, about 13 miles south of the Seattle-Tacoma airport)
(253) 681-6008
$40 Professionals
$10 Students
Beyond the Physical!
2023 Convention Program (PDF)
Live Stream
was live-stremed via Zoom

This Event Has Transpired

To view documents, stories, and images from the event, please visit its Convention Media page.

Convention Info back to top

The 2023 SDA-HPERA convention will be held near Seattle, WA, on Monday, March 27, 2023 at 8:00am Pacific.

Speakers & Topics

  • Keynote Speaker: Heather Van Mullem, PhD – professor at Lewis-Clark State College, Lewiston, ID – “Creating Socially Just Learning Spaces”
  • Jim Hanson Memorial Lecture Speaker: Bob Paulson, PhD – professor at Pacific Union College, Angwin, CA – “Beyond Sports!”
  • Roundtable Discussion Topics:
    • Supporting Students mental health & social-emotional learning
    • Supporting Your mental & social health
    • Supporting School Community mental & social health
  • Student Research Presentations – Students from Walla Walla University, Pacific Union College, & La Sierra University
  • Awards
    • Future Professional Award
    • Physical Education “Teacher of the Year” Award
    • Service Awards:
      • Bob Paulson, Pacific Union College
      • Ron Schafer, Burman University
  • Business Meeting:
    • Vote for President-elect & Secretary
    • Announcements
    • Other Business
  • Vision-casting for 2024 by President Tamara Ritterskamp, Forest Lake Academy

Lodging back to top

Hampton Inn & Suites Seattle/Federal Way (1 mile west of the meeting location)
31720 Gateway Center Boulevard S.
Federal Way, Washington 98003
(253) 946-7000

Use this link to book your room for a discounted rate.

2022–2023 Executive Committee back to top

Position Name Organization
PresidentMatt Lee PUC Prep Academy
Past PresidentAlex Adams Austin Peay University
President ElectTamara Ritterskamp Forest Lake Academy
SecretaryLizzie Mendoza Monterey Bay Academy
Convention ManagerOpen Position
Executive DirectorRob Thomas La Sierra University

Past Presidents and Secretaries back to top

Year President Secretary
2024 Randy Lonto Stacey Brackett
2023 Matt Lee Lizzie Mendoza
2022 Alex Adams Calvin Morton
2021 Vashon Williams Kaitlyn Nelson
2020 Rodd Strobel Matt Cantrell
2019 Jeremy Perkins Vashon Williams
2018 Doug Zimmerman Tamara Ritterskamp
2017 Randy Lonto Tedd Webster
2016 Bob Paulson Matt Lee
2015 Bob Benge Curtis Kuhlman
2014 Ric Schwarz Randy Lonto
2013 Alvin Fuentes Jeremy Perkins
2012 Brian Sather Jeremy Perkins
2011 Ron Schafer Doug Zimmerman
2010 Ric Spaulding Bob Benge
2009 Nestor Osorio Mike Boyd
2008 Rod Bussey Krystal Hauff
2007 Joe Perrone Laura Benn
2006 Greg Davies Gregg Morrow
2005 Greg Davies Gregg Morrow
2004 Delmar Lovejoy Steve Adams (Rob Thomas acting)
2003 Tim Windemuth Joe Perrone
2002 Nancy Petta Brian Sather (Barbara Harsany acting)
2001 Tim Willsey Ric Schwarz
2000 Don Morgan Heather Neal
1999 Ric Gatling Curtis Kuhlman (… acting)
1998 Barbara Harsany Gary Eggers (… acting)
1997 Rob Thomas Troy Beans
1996 Frank Martinez Ron Reading (Ric Spaulding acting)
1995 Bob Kalua Wally Fox
1994 Debbie Morgan Rob Thomas
1993 Phil Garver Jim Hanson
1992 Stan Detweiler Lydia Chong
1991 Roger McFarland Barbara Harsany
1990 John Pangman Sheri Hall (Bob Reynolds acting)
1989 Stacy Nelson Wally Fox
1988 Gary Hamburg Helen Weismeyer
1987 Vernon Scheffel Barbara Friesen
1986 Bill Napier Barbara Friesen (completed Cavanaugh’s term)
1985 Bill Napier Sandy Cavanaugh
1984 Walt Hamerslough Debbie Morgan
1983 Walt Hamerslough Debbie Morgan
1982 None (Steering Committee Chair presided) Bob Reynolds
1981 None (Association organized) Bob Reynolds