2018 SDA-HPERA Convention

Monday, March 19, 2018
Madison Academy
100 Academy Rd
Madison, TN 37115
(615) 865-4055

This Event Has Transpired

To view documents, stories, and images from the event, please visit its Convention Media page.

Lodging back to top

TownePlace Suites Nashville Goodlettsville

830 Conference Dr.
Goodlettsville, TN 37072
Group rate: $121 for a King or two Queens
  • Group rate valid March 18–20, 2018
  • Call 1-800-321-2211 & reference “SDA PE Convention” to get the group rate.
  • You may also book online

NOTE: Reservations for the group rate must be made prior to February 26, 2018. The hotel is approximately 7 miles north of Madison Academy.

Directions from the hotel to Madison Academy:

Speakers & Topics back to top

Presenter(s) Affiliation(s) Presentation Title
Dr. Steve Adams The Primacy Education Group “Shapely Calves & Bulging Biceps: Applying Physical Fitness Principles to Faith”
Dr. Rod Busssey Southern Adventist University “Sound Body… Sound Spiritual Mind!”
Matthew Janetzko Adventist Health System “Implementing CREATION Health Campus Engagement”
Dr. Debbie Morgan
Dr. Judy Sloan
Elementary Physical Education Specialist
Southern Adventist University
“Action-packed Ideas for Elementary Physical Education Programs”
Dr. Don Morgan Middle Tennessee State University “Dr. James L Hanson Memorial Lecture”
Dr. Robert Thomas La Sierra University “Finish Strong for PhysicalGenesis 2018”

2017–2018 Executive Committee back to top

Position Name Organization
President Doug Zimmerman Escondido Adventist Academy
Past President Randy Lonto Ruth Murdoch Elementary School
President Elect Jeremy Perkins Madison Campus Elementary
Secretary Tamara Ritterskamp Forest Lake Academy
Convention Manager Alex Adams Madison Academy
Executive Director Rob Thomas La Sierra University

Past Presidents and Secretaries back to top

Year President Secretary
2024 Randy Lonto Stacey Brackett
2023 Matt Lee Lizzie Mendoza
2022 Alex Adams Calvin Morton
2021 Vashon Williams Kaitlyn Nelson
2020 Rodd Strobel Matt Cantrell
2019 Jeremy Perkins Vashon Williams
2018 Doug Zimmerman Tamara Ritterskamp
2017 Randy Lonto Tedd Webster
2016 Bob Paulson Matt Lee
2015 Bob Benge Curtis Kuhlman
2014 Ric Schwarz Randy Lonto
2013 Alvin Fuentes Jeremy Perkins
2012 Brian Sather Jeremy Perkins
2011 Ron Schafer Doug Zimmerman
2010 Ric Spaulding Bob Benge
2009 Nestor Osorio Mike Boyd
2008 Rod Bussey Krystal Hauff
2007 Joe Perrone Laura Benn
2006 Greg Davies Gregg Morrow
2005 Greg Davies Gregg Morrow
2004 Delmar Lovejoy Steve Adams (Rob Thomas acting)
2003 Tim Windemuth Joe Perrone
2002 Nancy Petta Brian Sather (Barbara Harsany acting)
2001 Tim Willsey Ric Schwarz
2000 Don Morgan Heather Neal
1999 Ric Gatling Curtis Kuhlman (… acting)
1998 Barbara Harsany Gary Eggers (… acting)
1997 Rob Thomas Troy Beans
1996 Frank Martinez Ron Reading (Ric Spaulding acting)
1995 Bob Kalua Wally Fox
1994 Debbie Morgan Rob Thomas
1993 Phil Garver Jim Hanson
1992 Stan Detweiler Lydia Chong
1991 Roger McFarland Barbara Harsany
1990 John Pangman Sheri Hall (Bob Reynolds acting)
1989 Stacy Nelson Wally Fox
1988 Gary Hamburg Helen Weismeyer
1987 Vernon Scheffel Barbara Friesen
1986 Bill Napier Barbara Friesen (completed Cavanaugh’s term)
1985 Bill Napier Sandy Cavanaugh
1984 Walt Hamerslough Debbie Morgan
1983 Walt Hamerslough Debbie Morgan
1982 None (Steering Committee Chair presided) Bob Reynolds
1981 None (Association organized) Bob Reynolds