2021 SDA-HPERA Convention

Monday, April 12, 2021, starting at 8am Pacific / 11am Eastern
The Zoom link for the day’s meetings will be available Sunday evening, April 11, and throughout the day of the Convention.
Thriving in a virtual world!

This Event Has Transpired

To view recorded videos from the event, please visit the 2021 Convention Media page.

Zoom FAQs

If you have not used Zoom before, check out this 1-page document for simple, step-by-step instructions to be prepared to join us via Zoom for the convention!

Zoom FAQs for New Users

Convention Info & Schedule

This year, our convention will be online due to COVID.

As a part of celebrating 40 years of annual conventions, we want to celebrate the very first one, and have specifically invited “those who were there” in 1981 to attend our convention and share some of their perspectives. Come help us celebrate those whose foundation we are building upon!

Time* Event(s) Facilitator(s)/
*All times are in Pacific Time Zone
8:00am Welcome & Intro worship speaker Vashon Williams Oakwood University
8:05 Worship thought Gabriel Madrid Potomac Conference, Office of Education
8:15 President’s Message Vashon Williams Oakwood University
8:30 “Thriving through the lens of mental health and self-care” Daphne Thomas La Sierra University
9:15 “Serving our Community through 1) Eden’s Pantry; & 2) Mobile Farmers Market” Jonathan Simons
Lisa Dalrymple
Walla Walla University
Oakwood University
9:45 Break
10:00 “Creating engagement for online learning” Alex Adams Middle Tennessee State University
11:00 “Celebrating our 1981 origins in Boston!” Rob Thomas
Walt Hamerslough
La Sierra University
Professor Emeritus
12:00pm Student Presentations of their research!

We will have 3 Breakout rooms with 3 presentations in each room
La Sierra University
Pacific Union College
Walla Walla University
12:40 Break
12:55 Awards!
  1. Teacher of the Year: Kyle Kay, Fraser Valley Adventist Academy
  2. Service Award: Sue Peterson, Loma Linda Academy
  3. Service Award: Nancy Petta, Union College
1:20 Business Meeting
  1. Ratify officers – Matt Lee (president-elect), PUC Prep; & Calvin Morton (secretary), Oakwood Adventist Academy
  2. Revision of our Constitution & Bylaws
  3. Pass the Gavel: Vashon Williams → Alex Adams
1:40 Initial thoughts of our new President Alex Adams Middle Tennessee State University
1:50 Closing Prayer Matt Lee PUC Preparatory School

2020–2021 Executive Committee back to top

Position Name Organization
President Vashon Williams Oakwood University
Past President Rodd Strobel Walla Walla University
President Elect Alex Adams Middle Tennessee State University
Secretary Kaitlyn Nelson Athena-Weston School District
Convention Manager Position Open
Executive Director Rob Thomas La Sierra University

Past Presidents and Secretaries back to top

Year President Secretary
2023 Matt Lee Lizzie Mendoza
2022 Alex Adams Calvin Morton
2021 Vashon Williams Kaitlyn Nelson
2020 Rodd Strobel Matt Cantrell
2019 Jeremy Perkins Vashon Williams
2018 Doug Zimmerman Tamara Ritterskamp
2017 Randy Lonto Tedd Webster
2016 Bob Paulson Matt Lee
2015 Bob Benge Curtis Kuhlman
2014 Ric Schwarz Randy Lonto
2013 Alvin Fuentes Jeremy Perkins
2012 Brian Sather Jeremy Perkins
2011 Ron Schafer Doug Zimmerman
2010 Ric Spaulding Bob Benge
2009 Nestor Osorio Mike Boyd
2008 Rod Bussey Krystal Hauff
2007 Joe Perrone Laura Benn
2006 Greg Davies Gregg Morrow
2005 Greg Davies Gregg Morrow
2004 Delmar Lovejoy Steve Adams (Rob Thomas acting)
2003 Tim Windemuth Joe Perrone
2002 Nancy Petta Brian Sather (Barbara Harsany acting)
2001 Tim Willsey Ric Schwarz
2000 Don Morgan Heather Neal
1999 Ric Gatling Curtis Kuhlman (… acting)
1998 Barbara Harsany Gary Eggers (… acting)
1997 Rob Thomas Troy Beans
1996 Frank Martinez Ron Reading (Ric Spaulding acting)
1995 Bob Kalua Wally Fox
1994 Debbie Morgan Rob Thomas
1993 Phil Garver Jim Hanson
1992 Stan Detweiler Lydia Chong
1991 Roger McFarland Barbara Harsany
1990 John Pangman Sheri Hall (Bob Reynolds acting)
1989 Stacy Nelson Wally Fox
1988 Gary Hamburg Helen Weismeyer
1987 Vernon Scheffel Barbara Friesen
1986 Bill Napier Barbara Friesen (completed Cavanaugh’s term)
1985 Bill Napier Sandy Cavanaugh
1984 Walt Hamerslough Debbie Morgan
1983 Walt Hamerslough Debbie Morgan
1982 None (Steering Committee Chair presided) Bob Reynolds
1981 None (Association organized) Bob Reynolds